Eight Years Ago

Eight years ago, a day started just like any other day
Eight years ago, something terrible happened
Eight years ago, the world changed forever

Eight years ago, I saw the worst in the world
Eight years ago, I saw hate that I never knew existed
Eight years ago, I saw innocence lost

Eight years ago, tears were shed
Eight years ago, peace was stolen
Eight years ago, the fear was overwhelming

Eight years ago, our courage was tested
Eight years ago, our values contested
Eight years ago, our faith was challenged

Eight years ago, heroes died….

Eight years ago, a nation was united
Eight years ago, people cared about others
Eight years ago, hope was restored

Eight years ago, I saw the best in the world
Eight years ago, I was proud to be an American
Eight years ago, I lived a day I will never forget

