Day 17, LONDON!

WOW!! London was amazing! It was such a surreal experience. We took a train into town, then transferred onto a “Underground Tube” and our first steps out of “the Tube” was to the sight of Big Ben!! We came out right in the middle of Westminster. Right there by the station was Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Bridge, and the London Eye.

The best word to describe I already used earlier, surreal. I’ve seen all these sites so many times on TV and in movies, then I arrive in London and see these in real life. I had this weird feeling like I have already been there and seen these things. It was amazing though to actually see those iconic sites.

We then made our way to Trafalgar Square, where we met up with a few of our friends that we met from Birchington. Then after a quick lunch, we used “the Tubes” to make our way to Brick Lane which had some interesting culture that some locals thought we might like to experience.

Then for the rest of the day, the group split into two groups. One group made it’s way to Buckingham Palace and the other group went to another part to do some shopping.

Overall, this was a fantastic experience, but we definitely left room for more to see. For myself, visits to Piccadilly Circus and Westminster Abbey and a ride on a Double Decker would have made my day. Even though we didn’t get to do those, that just means I have something new to experience if I ever come back to London. Tomorrow is our last day before leaving back for the States.

