Conclave Today

I am off to Arlington because today is the beginning of Conclave! For those of you who don’t know, Conclave is a Texas youth minister’s convention held in Arlington every year. The purpose of the convention is to watch over 50000 people compete for 10 parking spaces. The winners are then awarded by being allowed entry into various seminars where they are then informed that their cars will shortly be towed. Haha.

Okay, so it’s not really that bad. But I truly have been looking forward to Conclave for quiet some time. Doug Fields is the top keynote speaker and Kari Jobe is the worship leader this year. I’m just as stoked for them this year as I was for the keynotes last year (Matt Chandler and Francis Chan).

But as cool as those “big names” are, one of my favorite things about Conclave and the thing that keeps bringing me back is the relationships I establish and the ones I build on during this weekend. One of the main things to do in order to be successful in ministry (and in life for that matter) is being able to build and maintain relationships. It’s the people you connect with that God uses to strengthen each other and His Kingdom.

