New Directions

If you’re a “Gleek” like me then you know the Glee reference in the title. But this post isn’t about Glee. It’s about this blog.

If you haven’t noticed, about a week and a half ago I renamed the blog. It used to be A Life Inspired, but now it’s Simply Gabe. A Life Inspired is now just part of the tagline. I think that this better reflects what this blog is and the direction I am wanting to go.

As it says in my Bio, “This blog is a place not only for me to talk about Jesus and what he’s doing in my life, but to share my journey in life itself. Theology and Ministry, Sports, Musings, Inspirations and Updates are just a few of the things that will be discussed in this blog.”

This is not a place where I will only expound on deep theological concepts or challenge your faith on a regular basis. 1.) I’m not smart enough to regularly blog on stuff like that. 2.) I find that life is much more interesting and more relevant to a struggling or new believer.

If you are a new, interested, or struggling believer, I willing to bet one of the big things you wonder about is “What does life as a follower of Christ look like in our everyday lives?” The idea of being “on” all the time is scary, but also untrue. Christianity is not just something we do, where we follow rules, do these religious things.

In my opinion, living the life of a Biblical Christian is more about living a certain way instead of doing certain things. It’s about the values, virtues, behaviors, and attitudes we have and live out and pass on to others. So, as a result of that belief, this blog is going in a new direction. One that reflects those things.

I want to show that you can be a Jesus Freak and still like and enjoy “secular” things. Music, movies, TV shows, sports, games, etc. I want to model what it means to be in the world, but not of it. Tim Tebow is a perfect example of what I mean. When he was starting quarterback for the University of Florida, he used football to further the kingdom. He used this secular sport to share his faith. When ever he came out of the tunnel, on his eye black, he always had a verse on them. And each week for a short time, that verse was a google top search.

The point I am trying to make is, I talk about various sports, video games, movies and whatever because those things might bring someone new to my blog. And in the midst of all those other things I’ll blog about, I will talk about the Gospel and the transforming power of Jesus Christ.

I hope that didn’t seem like a rant, but the Gospel is my true passion. I love some things in this world- my iPod, the Dallas Cowboys, RC Cola- but these are only gifts from God. You can be in world and enjoy the gifts of God, just remember not to be caught up and consumed by it.

We are aliens and strangers of this world, those things will never be able to satisfy us like God can.

