This year, in great detail

Wow…. what a loaded challenge. I don’t think one blog post can do it justice. I found this blog post with seven questions to ask before the year ends. I think the easiest way to do this is to work through these questions myself.

On a scale of 1-10, how satisfied are you with 2010?
I would have to say I would give myself a 7.

Why did you answer that way?
Seems kind of low. But there was a lot that went on. Some good, some bad, and somethings I perceived as worse than they probably were. But overall I can describe this year in two words – frustrating and growth. This has been the most frustrating years of my life. I’ve been micromanaged to death, put in my place, and in my opinion not really appreciated. But through all that frustration has come growth.

What are your biggest accomplishments this year?
Truly discovering who I am, and the type of leader I can be. Going to England was an amazing experience for me. Don’t think i have every shared this with anyone, but in my devotional journal I keep, in the beginning of May (just around where most of my frustrations started) I wrote that I wanted to experience God again in the same way that I did 2 years earlier. But little did I know that I would have to become an emotional wreck before that could happen. I was more than ready for the trip to England, even if it was just an opportunity to get away from all my frustrations. But what God did during those two and a half weeks transformed me. I got what I asked for, God brightly shined His light on me and re-energized me. Through worship and me being able to actually disciple some guys, I got back in touch with my calling. For the first time in almost 4 months I felt like I was doing ministry.

Biggest lessons you learned this year?
Don’t be afraid of mistakes and failure…. it is the best way to learn, grow and succeed. That’s why it’s called trial and error. You’re not always going to get the right answer or be perfect, but as long as you are trying your hardest and doing your best, God will make your best, better.

How can you make 2011 the best year ever?
By stepping up. Stepping up for what I believe in. Stepping up and being the leader I know I am.

What habits do you want to cultivate?
Get rid of clutter. Watch less TV. Read more. Put away the phone in the car. Fall back in love with working out. Appreciate the little things more. Build deeper relationships. More on all these later, I have a blog post on this lined up on the New Years Day.

What are your immediate next steps to achieve them?
In the blog I linked to above, the writer points out – “It’s not just about writing, but about doing.” For me, the biggest step to take is to stop letting fear dictate my actions. Fear of mistakes, fear of criticism, fear of rejection.

(Day 28)
[photo credit]

One thought on “This year, in great detail

Comments are closed.