Change in 2011

I’ve never been good at Resolutions. But this year is going to be different. How can I say that? Because I’ve already been changing my life some, but now I just want to give my change direction.

1.) Get rid of stuff & Reduce the clutter. I have too much, stuff. And most of it just sits around not being used. It’s time to just keep what I need and keep the sentimental things to a minimum. Clutter finds a way of overflowing in my life, but if I cut down on the number of things I actually have, that may become less of a problem.

2.) Watch less TV. I watch too much. It’s not that I have too many shows that I am watching, I just leave it on and just watch whatever. I waste so much time just watching something I’m not that interested in when I could be spending that time doing something productive.

3.) Read more. since I’ll be watching less TV, I want to read more. I got an Amazon Kindle for my birthday and I want to take advantage of being able to read a lot of books without having to worry about actually having paper books.

4.) Put away the phone. I don’t want to use the phone while driving anymore. Talking, texting, internet browsing. It’s too much of a distraction that I don’t want to have to worry about any more. This will probably be the hardest one to do, but I want to try.

5.) Fall back in love with working out. I remember a time when I worked out several times a week and if I missed a work out I felt terrible. I want to get back into that discipline. I want to get back in shape and stop just getting by physically.

6.) Appreciate the little things more. I want to slow down and take the time to smell the roses in life. Rick Warren said “To appreciate means to raise in value.” I want to raise the value of those little things that get over looked.

7.) Build deeper relationships. Relationships is the key. To work, to ministry, to life in general. I don’t want to be that guy who talks about relationships but doesn’t do anything to build real ones.

8.) Build a portfolio. Not necessarily to give at job interviews, but to keep all my ministry/career documents together. (in reality, I want this done by Summer)

9.) I want to replace the current bookcase I have with a case that is much smaller, like maybe 1/4th the size. Books are heavy and space eaters. Armed with a Kindle, hopefully this shouldn’t be to hard to accomplish and I can begin to reduce my stuff and clutter.

10.) Affirm more people more often. Sweet Hopkins (our former children’s minister who passed away from breast cancer last year) once said that “One of the worst things you can do is like something about a person and not tell them.” This reminds me of a story I once heard about a funeral where all these people had these wonderful things to say about the deceased only to realize that nobody ever told him those things.

