Church Welcoming

I never realized how much we (the church as a whole) epically fail at welcoming guests. Made a visit to a local church because of their young singles program. I went because I wanted to meet some new people. But, other than the greeters and when the worship pastor told us to say hi the people around us, no one said a word to me. Our “Holy Huddles” apparently applies to not just people outside the church, but to new visitors as well. We don’t bother to leave our clique to say hi to a someone who looks new and is by themselves.

It makes me rethink how I welcome visitors. I almost feel like it should be a requirement for church goers to visit another church on their own at least once a year, so they can be reminded how uncomfortable it feels to not know anyone.

Does anyone else have any thoughts about this?

Leave a Reply

