Rearing it’s ugly head

I read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein recently, it’s an interesting read and was definitely worth the time I took to read it. We all know that story…. or at least we think we do. Reading the book was a little eye opening because it made me realize how much pop culture has made Frankenstein sometime it really isn’t.

It’s a tragic story, but while reading this there was this thought in my head. The monster did cause Frankenstein a world of grief, but the more and more layers of Frankenstein’s mind was peeled back I can’t help but think that it was the monster in his own head that was more damaging. The fear of the monster was more horrifying than the actual monster. The fear of the monster consumed his life and in the end the fear of the monster controlled him and his actions. It was all he could think about, that one mistake (of his own creation) ruled him.

Frankenstein is generally considered a horror story, but in my opinion, what is scary about this story is not the monster or it’s actions. What scares me is Frankenstein himself and how we all have a monster inside of us. A monster that lurks in the darkness of our heart and waits to rear it’s ugly head. It is fueled by our fears and only becomes stronger the more we try to hide from it.

How do you combat this kind of monster? How do you not let this monster grow inside of us until it is unstoppable? We stop living in fear. “Fear not” in the Bible over 40 times. Think God is trying to tell us something? His perfect love drives out fear.

“I love you, LORD, my strength.The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” – Psalm 18:1-2

Leave a Reply

