Momentum report

The best way that I can describe Momentum is that it is a giant Christian festival. Much like music festivals like ACL, etc. But at the same time it was a lot like a conference as well, where one can go to seminars and learn a little about how to live as a Christian in the world and not of it.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect other than I knew there was going to be worship and we would be camping, but other than that I no clue what was going to happen. This ended up being a good thing as my eyes were opened to an interesting and different worship experience. I have not been shy when I talk about how limited my experience with how church is done. My experience is pretty much with one church and one youth group and both of them tend to do the exact same thing every week with no diversity or openness major change in how things are done.

While I was initially resistant to some of the different forms of worship and expression. But after a couple of days of being exposed to it and God softening my heart, I became interested and really wanted to understand it. What if I was just being critical? What if I was trying to fit God into a box? I think in those worship times, in those times of expression that were foreign to me, He was trying to teach me. He was trying to reveal Himself to me in a way that I had never experienced before.

In addition to all that, I also got to spend some quality time with some friends that I had known and grown close to through the Minnis Bay mission. During those five days, we camped in tents in the cool, damp English weather. It’s funny how close you can grow to people when you spend almost all day every day with them. This doesn’t come as too much as a surprised as this is the same reason a mission team grows so close together.

What did surprise me was how little I knew these people I went with. It shouldn’t have surprised me as I have only spend a total of 4 weeks (max) with these people. While I’ve known them for a year, I’ve only actually spent a short time with them. Don’t misunderstand me, this wasn’t a bad thing, just something that caught me off guard.

But it doesn’t matter now as I grew so close to these people that they prayed over me and declared that I was an honorary member of their crew. That really meant a lot to me. It was a feeling of overwhelming love that I hadn’t felt from others in a while. In a year that I felt like I was overlooked and taken for granted, I finally felt appreciated. It gave me a renewed sense of hope for my ministry and the direction it was heading.

Leave a Reply

