Bucket List Experiences

One of the best things about this trip was that I was able to do some things that I always wanted to do.

#12- Stonehenge – Beautiful, mysterious, unexplainable, this is on the bucket list of many people. It’s mystery draws people to find answers, but for some reason it does not provide them. Still, Stonehenge remains interesting and a worthwhile visit.

#26- Ride a double decker bus – There are a few things that are quintessentially London: Big Ben clocktower, historical statues, driving on the wrong side of the road, and double decker buses. What was cool about this was not only did I ride on a double decker bus, but it gave me a tour of pretty much all of Central London. What more could you ask for?!

#34- Attend a soccer match in Europe – So I sort of did this, my friend Fabian is the manager of a low level amateur team and I was able to watch them play twice. But this wasn’t exactly what I had in mind so I made the decision to not cross this off even though I did this.

#87- See the Mona Lisa in the Louvre – Who doesn’t want to see this famous painting in person? To say the enigmatic Mona Lisa draws a crowd is an understatement. It was a mad house trying to get close enough to get a good picture.

#111- View the White Cliffs of Dover – I must admit that the initial reason for my interest in seeing the Cliffs was due to the song by Eric Johnson. But after seeing pictures online, it became more than just a fascination, I wanted to see the beautiful cliffs.

There were, however, a couple of things that I thought about or planned to do, but in the end didn’t get to do:
#59- eat Belgium Waffles in Belgium – Part of initial planning of my visit to mainland Europe was going to be a quick day trip to Brussels. But due to having to pay for another night stay in a hotel and train ticket, I ended up staying an extra day in Paris which I used to visit Versailles. This will have to be put on hold for another trip.

#107- visit Sherwood Forest – I love Robin Hood and visiting Sherwood Forest was someplace I’ve always wanted to visit. Actually, Sherwood was on my agenda and I planned to visit there with Fabian but, due to a massive rainstorm, it was cancelled.

One thought on “Bucket List Experiences

Leave a Reply

