Guilty Pleasures

We all got them, and we all enjoy them. That’s why it’s called guilty pleasure. I remember my first legit guilty pleasure – *NSync, back in the late 90s/early 00s, their album, No Strings Attached, was just released and Bye Bye Bye was a big hit. I couldn’t get enough of it. I not only knew all the words but I was getting all the dance moves from the music video down. But since it wasn’t cool to like *NSync if you were a guy, I mostly kept it to myself. But luckily *NSync turned into mega stars and everyone loved Pop so I was able to openly enjoy *NSync. Lame, I know, I can tell you’re judging me on the other side of the computer screen.

Another example is with a friend of mine, he loves the song Torn by Natalie Imbruglia but he was so embarrassed by it that he renamed the track and artist on his iPod so that someone wouldn’t discover his guilty pleasure. He was relieved when he discovered that I am a fan of that song as well. It was like a ton of bricks was lifted from his back. Talk about over the top.

What I wonder, though, is why we attach a feeling of guilt to these things we enjoy so much. It’s not just music, it’s tons of other things as well, movies, food, cars, sports, clothes, shoes, games, all kinds of things. Do we hide them because they are embarrassing? Do we think that we will lose some “street cred” if our guilty pleasure is discovered?

What do you think? What makes guilty pleasures, well, guilty? And if you’re brave enough, share some guilty pleasures of your own.

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

Leave a Reply

