Time Stood Still For Me When…

One of the things I did while I was in England was visit the Royal Observatory in Greenwich. This place is famous for being the home of the creation of the Prime Meridian and the location where many come to stand at the Prime Meridian (like I did). Also, here was a museum on latitude and longitude and also on time. Very interesting since all time in the world is based on the the calculations made here.

One of the more interesting exhibits that could easily be missed was upstairs from the Souvenir shop after the main part of the museum was finished. It on the wall was written “Time stood still for me when…” and there was a place where people could fill out some cards and they could place in box and some where posted for all to see. Unfortunately, there were no cards for me to fill out, but I know what I would have put-

Time stood still for me when… I scored my first touchdown in a high school football game.

Don’t ask me why, but this was a big deal for me. I was going through tons of bitterness, frustration, and anger and I honestly was hating high school and life. Nothing seemed to be going my way. Until that day, we were playing Highland Park and I got to go in near the end of the game, it was throw away time as we were losing big (like we usually were back then) and on our last offensive play, I ran an Dig route (basically 5 steps and sharp cut in) and I caught the ball and just started running up field. No defenders were really near me except some poor guy who was being blocked into the ground. Finally something went my way, finally I enjoyed myself while I was on the team, finally I didn’t hate life.

A little deeper than I was planning to share, but there it is. I want to pose that question to you. You don’t have to go into detail as to why, but I wanna know- When did time stand still for you?

Leave a Reply

