Sporting Events

I am finally cleaning out the last of my boxes after moving. In one box was just a bunch of old papers that I threw in there, I found something in there that was an old ESPN article I printed out. It was from 1997 and it is a list of “101 things all sports fans must experience before they die. I have a few sporting events that I want to experience myself:

29. attend the Indy 500 – Although the IRL is not what it used to be, but the Indy 500 is still a benchmark sporting event in America.

30. watch a NASCAR race at Bristol Motor Speedway – Don’t know why, but I have always loved this short track. About 40 cars driving in close quarters with steep banks makes for exciting racing.

32. play a round of golf on the Old Course at St. Andrews – The oldest golf course in the world. Just all the history that is there on the Old Course would be overwhelming. If I only was able to play one more round of golf the rest of my life- it would be this one.

33. play a round of golf at Pebble Beach – One of the most beautiful courses in the world. I want to play on it, bottom line.

34. attend an association football (soccer) match in Europe – Europe pumps the most money into soccer. They have giant stadiums, great players. It may not be the purest form of the sport, but it is the best the sport has to offer. Like the NBA or MLB. And those people over there are nuts about their team.

45. watch a UFC fight Live – MMA is such an exciting sport to watch. I also love watching boxing live. There is a certain energy and excitement that is present when you watch something live and add that to the excitement of the sport.

105. attend a game at Wrigley Field – The ivy on the outfield wall is gorgeous. the stadium itself is historic. Plus the Cubbies are the America’s lovable losers.

106. attend a game at Fenway Park – Classic, legendary, and the Green Monster. It doesn’t matter if you like the Red Sox or not, this is ballfield many want to go to.

107. attend a LSU game at Death Valley – I’m a big fan of LSU, and the home field of the LSU Tigers is called Death Valley. It is loud and rowdy and it was made famous for causing an “earthquake” at the end of a Tiger’s win.

108. see a UT/OU game – I love the Texas-Oklahoma rivalry. I am a huge Texas fan and I hate OU with a passion. I want to be a part of that one game a year at least once.

120. Watch a Sumo wrestling match in Japan – This just seems like something that someone needs to do. There is so much ritual and culture in this sport, I feel like if you want to experience Japan, this is something you need to see.

These two things I think I’ll add:
136. Running of the Bulls – Everyone has heard of this. It’s crazy, scary and probably a little dumb. But it also sounds like something that would be so much fun.

137. Driving the Ring (Nurburgring, Germany) – No speed limit. Closed course. For a fee, just about anyone can take their car and drive as fast as they want on a former Grand Prix course. If that doesn’t sound like fun, I don’t know what does.

2 thoughts on “Sporting Events

Leave a Reply

