What is love?

tumblr_mpl3ozKyXy1rjorvbo1_500
Baby don’t hurt me.

Seriously though. We use that word in so many different contexts that many people don’t even know what it really means anymore. We get it confused because we don’t get what it means to express love.

For far too many of us, the most common expression of this is just how it makes us feel, but what even worse the world tries to teach us that the greatest expression of love is sex. The greatest expression is sex?! Don’t get me wrong, God designed it to be beautiful, wonderful, and pleasurable, but that doesn’t mean that a physical act is the greatest expression of love.

My mom loves me and I love my mom. I have friends I have known since I was 10-11 years old that I love deeply. And to top it all off, Jesus loves us without fail.

Not in a single one of these cases can you remotely say the greatest expression is anything close to sex.

Do you know what the greatest expression of love is? Sacrifice.

Love is a 14 year old who just told her dad that she hates him, but he still works two jobs so that she has food on the table and a roof over her head.

Love is giving up a Friday night out because your best friend is in a depression and needs a friend.

Love is willing to damage a friendship because you want to do what is right.

Love is Jesus dying a cross so that we no longer have to have to live under the bondage of sin and we can live free.

It is in what we sacrifice that shows who deep love can go.
What have you sacrificed due to love?

Leave a Reply

