What I’d Tell 18 Year Old Me

A friend of mine posted a couple of blogs a while back with the premise of writing a letter to her younger self. She of course eloquently articulated some great advice, and it don’t apply only to herself.

Of course in talking about this with her I joked that my advice to my younger self would be short and simple – “You’re an idiot. Stop pretending you’re not!”

Honestly, that is not just a joke. I would 100% tell my younger self that he was an idiot. It’s not that I was stupid and couldn’t do anything right, but when I look back at some of the things I did, said, and worried about, I wonder “What was I thinking!”

It’s been now been 15 years since I was 18, 15 years since high school. I’ve basically lived twice as long, so much as happened and I’ve changed so much. I’m a completely different person, and I’m proud of all the hard work I needed to do to become the person I am today. So now that I’m 15 years down the line, with 15 years more experience and wisdom, what would I tell myself?

What prompted me to expand on my original advice. Twitter of course. A trending topic was #whatidtell18yearoldme. And just getting a few favorites and retweets inspired me to write this post.

So without further ado – here are 15 things I’d tell my 18 year old self:

1.) Stop letting your fears make decisions for you
2.) Take more risks
3.) Invite people into your life
4.) People are thinking of you a whole lot less than you believe
5.) Everyone has a story to tell. They aren’t just extras in yours
6.) Your decisions define who you are, not your intentions
7.) You know what else doesn’t define you, other’s opinions
8.) Because of that – Being “cool” is not a good goal in life
9.) Appreciate others generosity, don’t take it for granted
10.) Stop worrying so much, it doesn’t make any situation better
11.) Do a better job of keeping in touch with others
12.) Don’t be afraid to ask her out
13.) Keep going, the beginning is always the hardest
14.) Travel more
15.) His grace is all you need

The funny thing is, this will probably be advice that I’ll have to tell myself in 15 years to the current me! Sometimes the things we wish we learned years ago we are still struggling to learn now.

Even “You’re an idiot. Stop pretending you’re not.”

Leave a Reply

