The very reason I write…

…is so that I might not sleepwalk through my entire life.”

– Zadie Smith

Despite being an extrovert, I can be a very introspective person. I love reflecting on my life and the people in my life. I keep a journal that I write in (at least weekly) for a couple of years now.

I also found out recently that writing these reflections down has actually been shown to have health benefits. It has proven to be very therapeutic in my life as I’ve been able to process some difficult emotions and also give me a chance to explore some of my thoughts that usually roam free in my mind.

But more than that, when I write, it gives me a chance to take a look back on my life and see how far I’ve come, how much I’ve grown, and how much I’ve been blessed in my life. It’s easy to just focus on the difficult parts of life, but when I look back on what I’ve written, I see that God has provided for me and taken care of me so much, and it would be easy to miss that if I never wrote anything down at all.

So as Zadie Smith says, “The very reason I write is so that I might not sleepwalk through my entire life.”

Leave a Reply

