Number 6

I forgot to mention this! A few months ago I was able cross off something else on my Bucket List. Number 6 – Drive of a Race Car.

I did this with my dad. I bought him a race car experience that we could do together for his birthday. While I do enjoy motor racing, my dad enjoys it even more. He never misses a F1 race or the 24 hours of LeMans. He also catches an Indy Car and NASCAR race from time to time.

We did what is called Dirt Racing Experience. We went to an oval dirt track just outside Mesquite called the Devil’s Bowl Speedway. We each hopped into some Late Model Dirt Racers with about 6 other guys and did about 10 laps. We both have the shared experience of struggling with the manual transmission at first because neither of us have driven a manual in over a decade. To be honest, we drove just fine, it was getting going without stalling is what we were both worried about. haha.


I really enjoyed it. I gave me ten laps to pretend I was a race car driver. Maybe in another life where I was braver I would have enjoyed being a race car driver

I do also have another driving experience on my Bucket List. Number 133 is to go to Germany and experience the Nürburgring Nordschleife circuit. One of the most famous tracks in the world due to it’s length and difficultly.

Hopefully I’ll be able to make it over there during my time in Europe, but until then, here is Richard Hammond when he was part of Top Gear trying to drive a Formula One race car.

Leave a Reply

